Easy Peasy Crock Pot Life: Beef Stew

Hello everyone!

This week I will be going on a four day juice cleanse to help me with my IBS. Perhaps it is because I am stressed about the holidays, I am hosting Christmas Day this year, or because I am ultimately saddened that I will not be with my family for the third time this year. You see, my family lives in Germany. I grew up in a city called Berlin and met my husband through the US Army when he was stationed in a small village named Baumholder. When he seperated from the military we both moved to Florida, his home. But that is a story for another time.

Anywho, juice cleanse. To help boost the energy that my insides so direly need. And during this time I tend to make a meal that the husband loves, and that lasts a couple of days. Who likes to cook delicious food for someone else when they themselves cannot have any of it because they are going on a cleanse? Not me that is for sure. So here I am preparing this Beef Stew in my Hamilton Beach Crock Pot , my trusty cooking companion of four years. 

It is easy. It is peasy. And it feeds four or one hungry husband for up to three days.

Beef Stew:

The Ingredients that you will need:

  • One carton Vegetable Broth
  • One carton Chicken or Beef Broth
  • Two large cups of Stew Beef. You can cube up a cheap steak that you bought, or do as I did and go to your local Sams Club and see what beef they have on sale. I was able to find 3.5 pounds of Stew Meat for $11.53 and I am only using two cups worth of that and have the rest frozen for another delicous time.
  • 6 medium Potatoes, red or golden that is up to you. I will be using red because that is the husbands preference.
  • Half of the biggest onion you can find, or one whole medium onion.
  • 6 handfuls of baby carrots
  • Worchestershire sauce
  • Salt and pepper to taste. I also like to add Mrs Dashs Table Blend Seasoning.
  • A crock pot, of course.


Here we go.

How to prepare this super easy meal:

Turn on your crockpot and set it on HIGH for SIX HOURS. Why six? I do not know but six always worked for me.

Fill the crock pot with the Broth Combination. Add seasonings (Worchestershire Sauce, Salt and Pepper).

Add the baby carrots. I used six handfuls which could be four normal hand sized handfuls to most (I have incredibly tiny hands).


Chop up the potatoes. I prefer to slice them up fairly thin, that way they cook faster and soak in flavor quicker. And add the potatoes to the crock pot.

Next you will chop up the onion, have tissues ready for when the tears come rolling. And you add it to the crockpot as well. I used half of a giant Spanish Onion that I bought from our local Market. I put the other half in the fridge because I will be using it for a different dish I will be making soon. 

Place the lid on top of the crockpot for 30 minutes and walk away. Play with the animals, play with your kids, check your phone for notifications, pay the bills, go to the mailbox, do whatever your little heart desires.


After 30 min you will take a big spoon and mix the stuff in the crockpot around and add the beef to it. Make sure that everything is drowning in the broth so that it does not dry out while it cooks.

And now you can relax. The first 45 minutes are already done. 

Always make sure that your crockpot is not at arms reach for children and animals. Make sure it is on a heatproof surface away from the stove top or any majorly important cables. Crockpots can get really hot really quickly.

And drum roll (when the six hours are over…….


Delicious Beef Stew with even yummier left overs.

Leave a Reply

